Fault Tolerant Steer-by-Wire System


This technology is developed for autonomous driving. Steer-by-Wire (SbW) replaces the mechanical linkages between the steering wheel and the steering rack mechanism with the linkage of sensors, controllers and electrically controlled actuators. This innovation is based on intelligent digital model, which can optimise steering related parameters to provide a personalised and natural steering experience to users.

  • Fault Tolerant Steer-by-Wire System 0
Commercialisation opportunities
Exclusive licensing
Problem addressed

There is no steering system meets with Automotive Safety Integrity Level D (ASIL-D) requirement suitable for autonomous driving vehicle.

  • Dual redundancy design motor and control system, maintaining basic steering ability during fault condition
  • Steering commands transmit through wires, meeting the requirement of autonomous driving vehicle
Key impact
  • Foster the future autonomous development by going SbW
  • Remove the mechanical linkage between steering wheel and steering rack
  • Fault tolerant and cost-effective mechanical design
  • Autonomous driving vehicle
  • Industrial motor control system with enhanced safety requirement


  • CN Utility Model Patent: 202121597084.3
  • HK Short Term Patent: HK30043358
Automotive Platforms and Application Systems (APAS)

Automotive Platforms and Application Systems (APAS) R&D Centre was established in 2006 by the Innovation and Technology Commission of HKSAR Government and hosted by the Hong Kong Productivity Council. The Centre undertakes R&D programmes as well as commercialising R&D results in collaboration with industry, universities and technology institutes for the development of the APAS technology. Since its establishment, APAS R&D Centre has carried out over 100 R&D projects and focus on 3 R&D areas, Green Transportation, Smart Mobility and Intelligent Systems. To facilitate greater synergy and further enhance cost effectiveness, APAS is form part of the Hong Kong Productivity Council with effect from 1 Nov 2012.